Hi, my name is Thinkie, welcome to my blog!
I'm a student in cultural studies, a museum enthusiast, a scrapbooker and an art journaler. I love to travel within Europe and I enjoy photography. You can read more about me on my homepage.

Blog

Blog Archive

Categories:
Art (History)
Art Journalling
Books & Literature
Cupcake Mascots
Fantasy
Food
History
Inspiration
Life
Museums
Other Crafty Adventures
Other Cultural Studies stuff
Other Cultural stuff
Philosophy
Photography
Poetry
scrapbooking
Trips & Travels

LinkedIn-profiel van Thinkie Batenburg-Mets weergevenMe @ Linked-In

Me @ Pinterest

Check out Cupcake's Flickr account!
Thinkie.
Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

My Youtube Channel

I enjoy:

Ali Edwards
Celine Navarro
Michelle LaPoint Rydell
Revlie
Marit
Elise Blaha
Annemarie
Les ateliers de Karine
Amy Tangerine
A Beautiful Mess
Balzer Designs
Bram's tea blog

And in Dutch I enjoy:

Maarten Batenburg
Museum Meermanno
Roeland van Wely

I live, I love, I create, I capture, I learn, I enjoy.

A-Z

I'm joining in the A-Z-fun I've seen popping up here and there...

A. Age: 30
B. Bed size: 1 meter 40 wide. Or rather, narrow... there's no escaping my cold feet for poor Maarten ;-) 2 meters long, I wish 2.10 would be standard so my toes wouldn't dangle over the edge when I lay low on my pillow.
C. Chore that you hate: most housekeeping chores 'cause fibromyalgia and housekeeping don't mix. Taking out the trash is my least favorite one though, even though it doens't hurt that much.
D. Dogs: erhm... It's not that I hAte them. I just don't think inside a house, in a city is the right place to keep a dog. Give me cats. Or bunnies. But not a dog relieving itself while I'm standing just a few feet away holding the leash, and having to clean it up afterwards. That's dogs in Dutch cities for ya. Ieuw!
E. Essential start to your day: Something hearthy for breakfast. If it wasn't for the scale, I would have full English breakfast (minus the beans) every day.
F. Favorite color: it's a tie between purple and (petrol)blue. And lime green is pretty nice too. but I'm really more of a black-white-grey girl.
G. Gold or Silver: Silver. We even have silver weddingrings. But I rarely wear jewellery.
H. Height: 1m73
I. Instruments you play: I do a mean tap on my computer keyboard ;-)
J. Job title: student / personal assistant of a bunny / museum volunteer / editor
K. Kids: nope, it's just Maarten, me and the bunny. I do like kids though, hope I'll get some more nieces and nephews to spoil in the future!
L. Live: Zoetermeer, the Netherlands
M. Motherís name: Wilma (I might add that my stephfather's name is Fred.)
N. Nicknames: some people tend to call me Kathinka ;-) (yes, as a kid I was called Pebbles for a while)
O. Overnight hospital stays: a couple days after my birth I went to hospital for several days untill they managed to do something about my bright orange colour by giving me a blood transfusion (thank you, blooddonors everywhere!) And when I was seven, during what was probably my first esophageal inflammation (many would follow, I probably spent over a year of my life having them when you add it all up, due to my stomach disorder, but I sat the rest of them out at home).
P. Pet peeves: dishounesty and spelling mistakes (please let me know when I make one!) I'm getting better at letting the latter go, but the first one is a matter of principle to me.
Q. Quote from a movie: 'Ich will nicht, ich will nicht weg!' ('I don't want, I don't want to go!') from Lola Rennt. Be careful with this quote, though, I once said it out loud when I didn't want to leave Bergen (Norway) and then we missed our train and had to stay for another night ;-)
R. Right or left handed: pretty much both, when I didn't have a preference they figured it was most practical to teach me how to write with my right hand (I can write with left but my handwriting with left looks kinda childish sometimes since it didn't get as much practise as my right hand, and I write slower with my left hand.) For some things I prefer my right hand, for some things I prefer my left hand.
S. Siblings: older (steph)brother, younger (half)sister.
T. Times you have moved house: 8 times: at 3, 5, 8, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25 y/o. When I was 17 I moved to The Hague for just over a year, the rest of my life I've lived in Zoetermeer. There are several places in the Netherlands and elsewhere in Europe where I'd like to live for a while.
U. Underwear: yes :-)
V. Vegetable you hate: my stomach hates beans and peas. I actually miss peasoup and grean beans but they make me sick. I'd rather talk about parsnip, my favorite veggie. And I'm a big fan of onions.
W. What makes you run late: I have a very loving relation with my snoozebutton, I hate to say goodbye to it. Fortunately I only need to get up early about twice a week on average. Not a luxury for an ME-patient who needs 12 hours of sleep each night on average.
X. X-Rays youíve had: pretty much every part of my body has been exposed to those over the years.
Y. Yummy food that you make: guests are most enthusiastic about my goat cheese, cheddar, hazelnut and pear pizza. I like making my own Indian dishes (curries and such).
Z. Zoo animal: my late grandmother Ine used to tell that when she took me to the zoo when I was little, my favorite thing to do was feed the ducks...

Geplaatst op 09-05-2012.
Meer berichten over

Jouw reactie


compulsary, will not be shown.
to confirm sender; spam-protection.